Jane Austen’s Novels

English author Jane Austen (1775-1817) wrote six major novels, one novella, minor works and juvenilia that are available for our enjoyment today. Her first novel to be published during her lifetime was Sense and Sensibility (1811) followed by Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815). Northanger Abbey and Persuasion were published posthumously after her death in 1817.

Follow the links below for additional information on the novels that have been featured during one of our Austen novel events here at Austenprose. There you will find an introduction to each novel, character lists, plot summaries by chapter, quote & quips by chapter, group reading notes and additional resources for each of the novels.  Enjoy!